It’s an odd and very scary feeling when you have to think of your youngest, the baby so to speak, asking to drive out of town. It’s strange to be more worried this time, with this kid, more so than I was with the other two. Maybe because he is “the baby.” – I really don’t know why it is different; an internal difference at least to me.I was worried when the oldest wanted to drive out of town. I remember telling Liz when she first asked she had to be driving at least a year until she would be given the privilege of driving out of town. I stuck to that.

I was worried when the middle child wanted to drive out of town. I remember telling Jeff when he first asked he had to be driving at least a year until he would be given that privilege. I lasted about 8 or 9 months.

I am worried now that my baby wants to drive out of town. I remember telling Jake when he first asked he had to be driving at least a year. He got his license late July/early August (my memory isn’t the greatest) – and already he wants to drive out of town. I told him I would think about it but don’t count on it.

I talked to Geoff about it last weekend and asked what he thought. He said if the car is mechanically sound (it was going in for the routine oil change) we would talk about it. So the car is sound so now what? What’s there to talk about – my baby wants to drive out of town!!!!

I talked to Liz today just asking what she thought. The oldest child doesn’t have the authority to make this decision, but she has driven with him much more than I have, and has allowed him to drive on trips they went on together “out of town” – Liz said Jake was a good driver – she went so far as to say, “Mom, he might even be a better driver than me – not like Jeff all crazy. You shouldn’t worry.”

But worry I do. Worry about the fog, if there will be snow, what if it rains, what if he tries to pass a car on the highway and it goes bad, what about this, think about that, etc ..etc..

You would think I would just say NO – but here I sit wondering if I should let Jake drive out of town; 3 hour drive to the lake to spend the weekend with his father and grandparents.

Maybe I am just a worry type of person. Maybe I just don’t want to give this last one, my baby, that much freedom.

I just don’t know

